Case in point: To my surprise, The Foley's were at Josh and Meagan's wedding. Upon asking, I found out that Josh invited them and "wanted them to be there." Now, I have not talked to him about this but I can tell you that he "wanted" them there so that he could say "The Foley's" were at my wedding. To him, it's a cool thing and something that makes him seem more "Springhill." Obviously, he is incapable of thinking of anyone other than himself in this situation because if he were, he would have thought about me and how weird, uncomfortable, and shocking that would be for me to see them there. Furthermore, he could have thought about Jason and how weird that would be for him as well. Josh doesn't even know them or have any association with them!! Now, some adult (e.g. my Mom or Dad) must have seen that their names were on the guest list. A sensible person (me, for example) would have said, "Josh, I don't think it's a great idea to invited the Foley's."
my uninterrupted forum to record my thoughts, dreams, hopes for the future, and whatever else i can come up with
Wednesday, November 18, 2009
parents, sometimes they still need parental advice
Sometimes children, even "young adult" children, need to be told they shouldn't do something, or at least have another option brought to their attention. (yes this does have to do with the wedding)
11.18.2009
It has been awhile since my last post...yeah, yeah, yeah
our current status:
I'm sitting here at work per usual
Jason is in Dothan. He has been there since yesterday and will be coming back tonight. He has only been gone for one night, but I still miss him so much. It's just not the same when he isnt around.
This past weekend was my brother's wedding. Boy, am I glad that's over!! I did have a good time and everything looked really nice. It was all the preparation that really got me down. It seems like, for weddings where the emphasis is on the decorations and what everyone is going to wear, that there isn't much emphasis left for the actual purpose of the day. the fact that two people are joining their lives together forever somehow gets lost in all the madness of the days leading up to the wedding. So, just being involved (grudgingly) in this wedding reminded me of why Jason and I got married the way we did and why I'm so happy that we both felt the same way about it. we really didnt want to do anything fancy or get all wrapped up in what we would eat, or wear, or
what everyone would think of it. we really got married just for us and just happen to invite our friends and family along. and, the coolest part, is that i know we would both do it exactly the same way if we had to do it over again.
I'm just happy we found each other =)

Sunday, October 18, 2009
Tuesday, September 15, 2009
9.15.2009
Today I got up early again to go for my morning run, it was pretty easy getting up this time although I feel very tired right now (9:41 am).
I decided to take Rusty with me at least for a little bit because he got out of bed too this morning as I was getting ready. He only lasted for about 10 min. becuase it was still dark outside and I heard another dog barking and I didn't want any trouble so we hurried back to the house and I headed out again without him.
I got in a good 2 mi. doing intervals before it started sprinkling. That went on for a couple minutes then it really started coming down so I headed in. I feel really good about getting that workout in I just can't figure out why I'm so tired now. I did go bed around 11pm last night so it can't be that I need more sleep...
After I showered I had 1 piece of peanut butter toast and some water.
Once I got to work I had a banana and some pb and my emergenC =)
I decided to take Rusty with me at least for a little bit because he got out of bed too this morning as I was getting ready. He only lasted for about 10 min. becuase it was still dark outside and I heard another dog barking and I didn't want any trouble so we hurried back to the house and I headed out again without him.
I got in a good 2 mi. doing intervals before it started sprinkling. That went on for a couple minutes then it really started coming down so I headed in. I feel really good about getting that workout in I just can't figure out why I'm so tired now. I did go bed around 11pm last night so it can't be that I need more sleep...
After I showered I had 1 piece of peanut butter toast and some water.
Once I got to work I had a banana and some pb and my emergenC =)
Thursday, September 10, 2009
9.10.09 another gloomy day
It has been a while since my last post, but we've been busy...We had a great labor day weekend that was very productive!
When i came home friday afternoon, jason surprised me by taking me downtown to see inglorious basterds at the crescent theater. it was so much fun!! we both loved the whole experience -- the owner of the theater came out to talk to everyone before the movie started and i loved the feeling of being in an old theater with just one screen. and, there were no annoying people talking the whole time.
We also got some projects done around the house like:
hanging the blinds in the dining room
which don't look exactly like i hoped -- i thought they would be a little more opaque so i think im going to do a little more diy work on those
we also got the window frame painted and the blinds hung in the kitchen! Yaaaayyyy!!!!

i did a little more painting in the kitchen until i ran out of paint =(
we also found some fabulous crape myrtles (purple just like i've been wanting) on clearance at lowes for $5 each!!
When i came home friday afternoon, jason surprised me by taking me downtown to see inglorious basterds at the crescent theater. it was so much fun!! we both loved the whole experience -- the owner of the theater came out to talk to everyone before the movie started and i loved the feeling of being in an old theater with just one screen. and, there were no annoying people talking the whole time.
We also got some projects done around the house like:
hanging the blinds in the dining room
which don't look exactly like i hoped -- i thought they would be a little more opaque so i think im going to do a little more diy work on those
we also got the window frame painted and the blinds hung in the kitchen! Yaaaayyyy!!!!
i did a little more painting in the kitchen until i ran out of paint =(
we also found some fabulous crape myrtles (purple just like i've been wanting) on clearance at lowes for $5 each!!
first morning run
So, today was the first day of getting up early to run. I got up pretty easily thanks to the loudest alarm clock ever! I jogged 2 miles and walked another 1/2 mile to "cool down". I feel pretty good right now, a little tired, but I think my body just needs to get accustomed to waking up a little earlier.
I was pretty hungry when I got back but waited a little while to eat because I really wanted cereal, but alas I had taken it to work yesterday. So, as I was getting ready I had half of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and saved the rest for later.
Once i got to work i had my morning coffee and finished my pb&j.
around 10am i had a snack of 100 cal. popcorn yum!
No class tonight! woooohoooo!!!
I was pretty hungry when I got back but waited a little while to eat because I really wanted cereal, but alas I had taken it to work yesterday. So, as I was getting ready I had half of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and saved the rest for later.
Once i got to work i had my morning coffee and finished my pb&j.
around 10am i had a snack of 100 cal. popcorn yum!
No class tonight! woooohoooo!!!
Wednesday, August 19, 2009
8.18.2009
| Liquid Measure Conversion | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
So, Jason and I had a discussion about metric system Monday tonight. The discussion started when we were watching CSI and they said that there are 8 pints of blood in the human body. We tried to figure out some that we should already know like how many pints in a quart (see above) and so on. We then had a discussion about what the equivalents are in the metric system...gallons to liters and so on.
The weird part is that Tuesday night on my way home from class, I was listening to Clark Howard on talk radio. He was talking about a number of different topics, but one in particular was the gas mileage of different vehicles. There was a caller from Britain, and he mentioned that over there they had recently changed all the gas stations to display metric instead of the American? system. So they of course started trying to convert gallons to liters and Clark said that there are 3.85 liters in a gallon. Just what we talked about last night!
8.17.2009
I had the day off today (new UM policy - one of the few good ideas they have) and I spent the morning cleaning up the house and doing laundry. I felt much better once I had accomplished all this so I took a break to read some Harry Potter which I am almost done with! Then I went to meet Vanessa, Noah, and Ben at chick-fil-a, or the chicken nugget store as Noah says. We had a really fun time but Noah wanted to stay with me so he and I went to Target while Vanessa and Ben went to Hobby Lobby. Noah and I had a really fun time and he was really good the whole time. He sat in the buggy and played with his pirate toys and we just talked. Some funny things that he said: (1) one the Target employees asked me if I needed any help and after we walked away Noah said "Jess why was that man talking to you?"
(2) he told me that his plastic pirate knife is a knife, a sword, and a pointer
(3) after we were done with the grocery shopping we went to starbucks to get some coffee and they had a sample of tea. we both tasted it and he didn't like it and was asking why they were giving it away. i told him that just something nice that starbucks does and says "what's starbucks" =)
Later on in the evening, Jason and I listen to some music and he plays along with his guitar. He dedicates a really cool song to me for my bday: harvest moon. I had never heard it before but I really like it! I love when he shares new music with me!!
(2) he told me that his plastic pirate knife is a knife, a sword, and a pointer
(3) after we were done with the grocery shopping we went to starbucks to get some coffee and they had a sample of tea. we both tasted it and he didn't like it and was asking why they were giving it away. i told him that just something nice that starbucks does and says "what's starbucks" =)
Later on in the evening, Jason and I listen to some music and he plays along with his guitar. He dedicates a really cool song to me for my bday: harvest moon. I had never heard it before but I really like it! I love when he shares new music with me!!
8.16.2009
We went to have a shared birthday lunch today for me and Josh. We would have normally gone to my Mom's apartment, but she is house-sitting right now for the Rambo's so we went to their house. It is a new really nice house, but the food and company was the best part! Josh and Meagan were also there, and she was all about their wedding coming up. She is a little stressed about all the last minute details she has to get ready. I did have to hold my tongue a little to not say something like "That's why we didn't have a traditional wedding and just had a fun party. It took a lot of the stress out of it."
But back to the food -- We had crab legs, boiled shrimp, scalloped potatoes (one of my personal favorites), broccoli, and dessert. Everything was delicious and Jason and I ate and ate and ate. We also took the puppies with us so that they could socialize and play outside in the fenced in yard. They had a really good time and were all tuckered out by the time we got back home. As far as the dessert, Jason and I were responsible for that because I wanted to have an ice cream cake roll. We were originally going to order from Baskin Robbins but when I called about it they didn't have very many ice cream choices and I really wanted Cookies and Cream ice cream. So I remembered seeing a recipe for it online so I thought that we could do it. Well, it's not as easy as they make it seem on the video tutorial. It turned into the biggest ice cream sandwhich ever and was definitely not frozen enough to transport when we needed to leave for lunch. Of course we waited until the day of to try to make the recipe that neither one of us had attempted before. (a rookie mistake) So we ended up stopping by Wal-Mart and got an ice cream cake with Cookies and Cream ice cream and that worked out just fine.
All in all, another great day with family.
But back to the food -- We had crab legs, boiled shrimp, scalloped potatoes (one of my personal favorites), broccoli, and dessert. Everything was delicious and Jason and I ate and ate and ate. We also took the puppies with us so that they could socialize and play outside in the fenced in yard. They had a really good time and were all tuckered out by the time we got back home. As far as the dessert, Jason and I were responsible for that because I wanted to have an ice cream cake roll. We were originally going to order from Baskin Robbins but when I called about it they didn't have very many ice cream choices and I really wanted Cookies and Cream ice cream. So I remembered seeing a recipe for it online so I thought that we could do it. Well, it's not as easy as they make it seem on the video tutorial. It turned into the biggest ice cream sandwhich ever and was definitely not frozen enough to transport when we needed to leave for lunch. Of course we waited until the day of to try to make the recipe that neither one of us had attempted before. (a rookie mistake) So we ended up stopping by Wal-Mart and got an ice cream cake with Cookies and Cream ice cream and that worked out just fine.
All in all, another great day with family.
8.15.2009
Jason and I had a really really great day today! First, we went to Ben's for lunch and Jason mentioned that it was my bday and they gave us our lunch for free! (We got burgers....mmmmm) Then we came back across the bay to go see the movie that I chose to see -- Orphan. We saw it at Carmike 14 which we will never never go to again. It is ghetto and there were people talking the whole time behind us. I kept looking back at them thinking surely they will see me and lower their voices. Well they did not, so finally I turned around and said nicely, "Excuse me, could you please be quiet?" They did not quiet down at all, and Jason told me once we left the theater that the female in the couple called me a bitch after I said that to them. I did not hear this, however, I wish that I would have. Then we went downtown and walked around for a bit and went to Liquid to have some sushi. We got a gift certificate online for $25 that we only paid $2 for!! So, that made the evening even that much better. It was a really cool place and the sushi was delicious. As far as birthdays go, this one ranks as #1 so far (even including the few hicups along the way).
8.9.2009
The power went off this morning. Jason was still sleeping but I was downstairs watching tv. I went to get his phone to report it online and as soon as I click "send" the power comes back on...figures.
We went over to Jason's parents house today and had a really good time! Rachel and Will were also there and it had been a really long time since the 6 of us had been together. We had lunch which was wonderful as usual. We also had some really good discussions after lunch. We talked about my internship and what crazy people I have to deal with. We also talked about Mr. Jerry's younger days and the crazy people that he knew. There was also a brief discussion about religion which Jason and I tried to wrap up pretty quickly -- we don't really think that that is the best after lunch topic. Then Jason did some computer work which is also a pretty frequent occurance when we go over there. All in all, it was a really nice afternoon. And we all decided that we are going to plan to do that at least once a month from now on.
We went over to Jason's parents house today and had a really good time! Rachel and Will were also there and it had been a really long time since the 6 of us had been together. We had lunch which was wonderful as usual. We also had some really good discussions after lunch. We talked about my internship and what crazy people I have to deal with. We also talked about Mr. Jerry's younger days and the crazy people that he knew. There was also a brief discussion about religion which Jason and I tried to wrap up pretty quickly -- we don't really think that that is the best after lunch topic. Then Jason did some computer work which is also a pretty frequent occurance when we go over there. All in all, it was a really nice afternoon. And we all decided that we are going to plan to do that at least once a month from now on.
Our evening activity: Jason showed the map project he had been working on. It's a collection of maps from when he went on a work trip to Atlanta when he worked for Integrity and I was living there at the time. He showed me where the hotel is that he stayed at and told me about how he would walk outside in the middle of the night and think about what I was doing somewhere else in the city. It was a really cool thing becuase we didn't really talk at the time and I didn't even know that he was there in Atlanta. But, now that we can both look back on it and reflect from where we are now, that's a really cool feeling. We have had a really amazing journey in our life together and it's fun to think back sometimes at our lives before we were together but also how much the intersected even if we didn't know it at the time.
We also watched a little true blood and i really cant believe how much Jason loves it. I didn't really think he would like it this much but I'm so glad he does!!
We also watched a little true blood and i really cant believe how much Jason loves it. I didn't really think he would like it this much but I'm so glad he does!!
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
8.8.2009
We went to Jason and Kari's wedding today...we give them a year and they will be having kids =) it was a really nice ceremony. Kari looked like a princess, she was very sparkly. The stringed quartet were very very good. Her dad played a solo on the flute (i think) and it was nice until he decided to sing as well. I think it would have been better with just the flute. The reception was at Heron Lakes where Josh and Meagan are getting married. It was nice, the food was so-so, and it was extremely (maybe a bit of an exaggeration) hot in there.
8.5.2009
why are all the good morning shows that i find eventually cancelled??!!??? first it was the show on q100 -- cant remember their name now, and this week i have not heard bob and sheri at all on 94.1 so what gives mobile?
8.2.2009
jason is at a bacholer party for jason wahtley, this may takea while to type, i watched bejamin button tonight and i was really good!! i wanted to talk to jason a lot during the movie about how we are meant for each ohter and all oo bedcaust i was cryting a lot bu t i thing tjat i will go to sleep now.
7.21.2009
I forgot my phone today -- left it at home. this is apparently contagious because jason has been doing this quite often lately.
Thursday, August 6, 2009
7.7.09
I've decided to start chronicling our (mine & Jason's) life together. We have an actual notebook that we (Jason) write down little tidbits every now and then but I thought it would be nice to have more of an ongoing day to day feed.
We have been married almost 2 years now and together almost 4 -- in October. We have been working on our house a lot. I have painted just about everyone room, the guest room and the music room are the only one's that haven't' seen my paint brush. I started in the living/dining area and that combo area is pretty much set. It's a far cry from when we first moved in. I'll have pictures to explain soon. Next I painted our bedroom - which I no longer like and am working on a design to redo it - and the entry/hallway/stairs. I love how the entry/hallway/stairs turned out. I did a graduating purple experiment and it turned out really good. Next was the office and its brown and I love it too, the only thing it needs is curtains and a new rug, and I would eventually like to set up the sewing machine desk in there. Now comes the biggest project of all: the kitchen. We decided to tackle the kitchen (although we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into) because we had a leaky faucet and mold had taken over the walls and floor. So, we ripped everything out and started fresh. We worked on it for a good 2 1/2 to 3 months straight. We have taken a little respite at this point because we are tired and its expensive! We are still doing little things here and there to try to get it finished up. It does look amazing now though.
So that's what we have been up to during our 1.5 years of marriage =) Our free time is spent hanging out with each other watching movies, CSI, Lost, The Office, or the chronicles (Flight of the Concords -- I can never remember the name and actually had to look it up just now). As you can see we really like hanging out and spending time with each other. We also go to Ben's every Saturday for lunch (except those months we were working on the kitchen which was really difficult). We also love spending time with our puppies: Cody, Barkley, and Rusty. So that's pretty much it. The story of our lives up until now. I'll be back tomorrow to give an update of what happens between now and then.
We have been married almost 2 years now and together almost 4 -- in October. We have been working on our house a lot. I have painted just about everyone room, the guest room and the music room are the only one's that haven't' seen my paint brush. I started in the living/dining area and that combo area is pretty much set. It's a far cry from when we first moved in. I'll have pictures to explain soon. Next I painted our bedroom - which I no longer like and am working on a design to redo it - and the entry/hallway/stairs. I love how the entry/hallway/stairs turned out. I did a graduating purple experiment and it turned out really good. Next was the office and its brown and I love it too, the only thing it needs is curtains and a new rug, and I would eventually like to set up the sewing machine desk in there. Now comes the biggest project of all: the kitchen. We decided to tackle the kitchen (although we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into) because we had a leaky faucet and mold had taken over the walls and floor. So, we ripped everything out and started fresh. We worked on it for a good 2 1/2 to 3 months straight. We have taken a little respite at this point because we are tired and its expensive! We are still doing little things here and there to try to get it finished up. It does look amazing now though.
So that's what we have been up to during our 1.5 years of marriage =) Our free time is spent hanging out with each other watching movies, CSI, Lost, The Office, or the chronicles (Flight of the Concords -- I can never remember the name and actually had to look it up just now). As you can see we really like hanging out and spending time with each other. We also go to Ben's every Saturday for lunch (except those months we were working on the kitchen which was really difficult). We also love spending time with our puppies: Cody, Barkley, and Rusty. So that's pretty much it. The story of our lives up until now. I'll be back tomorrow to give an update of what happens between now and then.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)




