Friday, January 22, 2010

1.22.2010

Dear Graduate Professor,

As you can see, I am sitting here in your graduate level class, and I would like to take this opportunity to express a continuing frustration. As I already stated, we are here in grad class, so I don't need an explanation for the following words:

generalization
explanatory (are you kidding me?!?!?)
feasibility

I think its pretty safe to assume that we wouldn't have made it this far without knowing these simple, extremely common words. Furthermore, if anyone in the class does not know what these words mean, that's their own fault. This graduate class is not the forum to explain the meanings of commonly used words of the English language.

That is all.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

1.14.2010 (twenty-ten)

Why have I waited this long to write my first post of the new year??!!?? Note to self: one of my goals for this year is to keep a more consistent record of my thoughts here!

So, I'm sitting here at work, again, and the monotony is really starting to wear on me. I'm so happy that I only have three classes left until I can leave this wretched job and start doing something that is actually enjoyable. Yes, it will still be a job that I have to get up early to go to everyday, and I won't be thrilled to go every-single-day, but I will have things to do and people to talk to. I will not be stuck at my desk all day with no one talk to or look at but myself or my computer screen (we've become pretty close friends over the past 1.5 years). I did have the discovery this week that I really don't have anyone to talk to unless I go over to Weaver which I rarely have occasion to do because I don't have anything to turn in or mail. I get really tired during the day which I think is pretty unusual because I don't stay up all hours of the night and I sleep fairly well on most nights. So, I realized that I get sooooo tired because there is NO ONE else here with me (except of course for Bumpers, but our communications are pretty non-existent). Yes, yes, it's all very sad....but one day, I'll have a grown up job where I can talk to (or not) other people and actually have some work to do to occupy my time.

Enough with the pity party, what a way to start my first post of the year!

Some good things that I've done so far this year include: not having to come into work this past Monday because the power was out on campus, so I stayed home and re-arranged the kitchen a little, hung lots of things on the walls in the kitchen, took down all the Christmas decorations and put them back in the attic -- except for one outdoor tree that I couldn't get to come apart. The weekend before that though, I started a really fun (if you think organization is fun) project of sprucing up the closet in our entry way. It was previously very inefficient with only one shelf and a hanging rod that had nothing hanging on it. Basically everything was piled in there and if you needed to get anything out, it was necessary to remove everything then put it all back. So, I got some really fun paint called Sour Apple, took everything out and got to painting. Meanwhile, Jason cut some wood that we already had at home for the wall braces and shelves. He installed those then once the paint was dry, I put the shelves in. We ended up only having to buy one piece of wood for the top shelf! I put contact paper on the shelf to make sure the Sour Apple paint didn't get on anything that was put in the closet. It isn't full yet, but is storing our things much more efficiently! One of the best parts of the closet re-do is that our vacuum cleaner now has its very own home in there! Before, it didn't really fit into any of our other closets so we just moved it around from room to room, trying to keep it out the way.

In other news, I've been doing really good working out so far this year. I've been fairly consistent and staying on track so I'm really happy about that!

Total miles ran this year to date: 5.5